Sunday, January 16, 2011

The Arcade Fire part 1 (Funeral)

The Arcade Fire is an indie rock band from Montreal Quebec,The group was formed by Texan Win Butler,the grandson of swing-era bandleader Alvino Rey,who followed a friend to Montreal to to study music & religion at McGill university.He met Régine Chassange,the francophone daughter of Haitian parents who fled the island's repressive regime of the '60s.Chassange often performed in a medieval music ensemble or sang jazz standards while studying music.

The group's name is based off a Tall tale that was told to Butler when he was a child about a fire that burned down an arcade and killed all the kids inside.Though the story wasn't true,the young butler had believed it,and the words "arcade fire" had stayed with him to adulthood


Funeral is the Arcade Fire's debut album released on September 14th,2004.The band named it funeral because funerals had been such a common occurrence for Arcade Fire members in the time leading up to the release of their debut album that they titled it Funeral. Funeral was not a concept album based around death.Merge, the label that the arcade fire is on,pressed only 10,000 copies of Funeral ,but demand grew so quickly that the company couldn't keep up.

Funeral also earned Arcade Fire such prominent fans as David Byrne,who joined the band on stage to perform the Talking Heads "This Must Be the Place (Naive melody)," which was later released as the B-Side of a UK single, and David Bowie described the band in the March 10th,2005 issue of Rolling Stone "There's a certain uninhibited  passion in the Arcade Fire's huge, dense recording song.They meld everything from early Motown,French chanson and Talking Heads through the Cure in a kaleidoscopic dizzy sort of rush." Funeral was very well received and is praised as a "Modern Classic"

My personal favorite song off this album is Neighborhood #2 (Laika) because the song sounds like a heavy metal in spirit but is Indie Rock.

Track listing:
No. Title Length
1. "Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)"   4:48
2. "Neighborhood #2 (Laïka)"   3:31
3. "Une année sans lumière"   3:40
4. "Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)"   5:12
5. "Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles)"   4:49
6. "Crown of Love"   4:42
7. "Wake Up"   5:35
8. "Haiti"   4:07
9. "Rebellion (Lies)"   5:10
10. "In the Backseat"   6:20


No comments:

Post a Comment